New Consumer Classification System (NCCS)

The New Consumer Classification System or the New SEC system is used to classify households in India.
It is based on two variables:
  1. Education of chief wage earner
  2. Number of “consumer durables” (from a predefined list) - owned by the family. The list has 11 items, ranging from ‘electricity connection’ and ‘agricultural land’- to cars and air conditioners.
Below are the 11 items owned or have access to by respondents, and are considered while classifying households in India: 
  1. Electricity Connection
  2. Ceiling Fan 
  3. LPG Stove 
  4. Two Wheeler 
  5. Colour TV 
  6. Refrigerator
  7. Washing Machine
  8. Personal Computer/ Laptop 
  9. Car/Jeep/Van 
  10. Air Conditioner 
  11. Agricultural Land
There are 12 grades in the NCCS - A1, A2, A3, B1, B2, C1, C2, D1, D2, E1, E2, and E3. 
For more information on the NCCS, ‘Download’ the PPT on NCCS or visit the ‘Download’ section to download the same…